The Ins and Outs of Car Insurance in Las Vegas
If you are new to the world of car insurance, then first of all – congratulations on passing your test. Second of all; do you know what the state requirements are where you live? We took an in-depth look into the ins and outs of car insurance in Las Vegas, to find out everything you need to know about keeping that new license clean!
Why Do You Need Car Insurance in Las Vegas?
It is recommended that everyone get automobile insurance, regardless of where in the world they live. Insurance covers you, should you have an accident. In the USA it covers you in various stages. You may be covered in the case of damage to property, damage to yourself and your vehicle, and damage to other persons, in the event that you need to pay someone else’s medical bills.
Find out more about what you need to know on Las Vegas car insurance specifically, below.
The Ins and Outs of Las Vegas Auto Insurance
So what do you need to know about buying vehicle coverage in Las Vegas? For a start, you need to meet the minimum requirements. All states have these, including Nevada. In Las Vegas therefore, you should have a minimum of $25,000 per person in Bodily Injury Liability Coverage.
Bodily Liability Coverage
This is the type of car insurance that covers you and any other participants in the accident. If you incur medical bills, this is what will pay for it. In Nevada, your per-accident cover needs to be $50,000 minimum. This won’t protect you from ongoing medical fees or
Property Damage Liability Coverage
Property Damage Liability Coverage is just as it sounds. It covers you in case you drive into someone’s wall, or otherwise run over their property. In Las Vegas, you need to be insured for a minimum of $50,000.
Uninsured Motorist’s Coverage
In the case of you hitting, or being hit by, an uninsured driver; this type of car insurance is what you need. In Nevada you must have at least $25,000 per person. This must have a per-accident cap of $50,000 minimum. This might sound like a lot of money but when you get into an accident you soon find out it all adds up.
With health care bills, property and vehicle damage bills, and uninsured drivers costing an average of $67 per year, per policy – the costs of driving without insurance are considerably higher.
What Happens if you Drive Without Insurance?
Driving without a valid insurance policy in different states results in different penalties. In Nevada, you can expect to be punished with:
- An incremental fine – you may incur a fine that starts from £250 and rises to $1,000. The overall fee will depend on how many days have elapsed since your car insurance elapsed.
- A misdemeanour – driving without insurance in Las Vegas is breaking the law. You will get a criminal record, which may affect your ability to find work.
- You may get your license taken from you. Reinstatement costs anything up to $750.
More than anything else, driving without insurance in Las Vegas will cost you a lot of money if you have an accident. You may also find yourself with a criminal record, too.
comments powered by Disqus