Legal Guide

Home > Legal Guide

Explaining the Legal Workings: Are You Familiar with These 7 Stages of Civil Litigation?

There are many stages of civil litigation and you need to know them all so that you can know what to do when you want to seek justice. Often, most people don’t know what to do when they want to seek justice in courts. Don’t worry everything you need to know is covered here. Below are the seven stages of litigation that you need to be familiar with today.

Stage One: Investigation

You can’t assume this stage because all civil litigation will begin with it. So, you need to to hire a lawyer that will take care of the investigation, together with a private investigator.

At this first stage, your attorney will be required to gather enough evidence that will be used for your civil case in court during your trials.

The evidences your attorney may include are things like; medical records from your doctor, evidence from accidents scenes, maybe in form of photos, interviews with eyewitnesses etcetera.

Stage Two: Pleadings

Another name for lawsuit paperwork is pleadings. If you are involved in any civil lawsuit, you will be required to file your pleading that entails your complaints. Remember, your complaint is the most critical. So, present it well. The complaint must come from you (the plaintiff) and it should contain all the damages that you suffered.

Stage Three: Discovery

In this stage, you’re going to be tasked with fact gathering. Another critical stage that no mistakes should be made.

In addition, you are free to exchange information with the other party – about the upcoming trial you’ll have. This information should include all the evidences you gathered plus the witnesses you’ll present during your trial.

The reason why the discovery stage is important is because it eliminates the scenarios of surprises and allows both parties to prepare adequately.

Stage Four: Pre-Trial

It is at these stage that both lawyers representing the complainant and the defendant will have a chance to enter into conferences and negotiate.

In most instances, for example, cases involving accidents, you can reach an agreement at this stage if you negotiate well.

It is also at this stage that the plaintiff’s lawyer makes a specific monetary demand and the defendant’s lawyer will have a limited time to respond.

It is normal for the case to go back and forth at this stage, but most cases are always settled at this stage.

Stage Five: Trial

Stage four should always be the trial if your case couldn’t be solved at the pre-trial stage. It is at this stage where both parties are free to present their cases. Also, lawyers for both parties will have the opportunities to cross-examine the witnesses presented.

Stage Six: Settlement

Settlement is made at this stage. The judge will give his or her verdict depending on the evidences provided. Usually, this is considered the final stage (settlement), but you can always petition an appeal if you’re dissatisfied with the outcome.

Stage Seven: Appeal

If you’re not satisfied, let your lawyer file for you an appeal, though, it may take long for it to commence. However, after the appeals begin, they are likely to move faster.

Wrap Up

Now you know the process of a litigation. Don’t hesitate anymore when you want to find legal address. You have all you need to do that. Just follow through the processes and you will find the justice you deserve.

comments powered by Disqus