DUI Laws in New Jersey
After every one hour, someone in the US gets killed by a drunk driver. Regardless of national publicity campaigns and strict state laws to raise awareness on the risks of drunk driving, vehicle accidents are still happening at a high rate.
In fact, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that drunk-driving-related accidents account for more than 35% of every fatality in the US.
Driving while drunk is a negligent and reckless act, demonstrating a lack of regard for everyone’s safety. Apart from the loss of lives, drunk driving can cause fatal accidents, resulting in arrests, damage, injuries that cost the residents in New Jersey around $11.4 billion each year.
The Law Related to DUI
Because of the high number of drug and alcohol-related vehicle accident, New Jersey prohibits driving your car with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that exceed 0.08.
If caught, you can face heavy fines, three months in jail, or even a suspension of your driver’s license. Other repercussions, like the alcohol treatment programs and community service, might negatively affect your job.
DUI for Drivers with Less than 21 Years
Although the o.08% BAC limit applies to every driver over the legal drinking age, an underage driver will be held to a zero-tolerance BAC standard.
If you are less than 21 years old and get arrested, it is New Jersey drunk driving facts that BAC results showing the trace of alcohol in your system may subject you to the underage DUI charge. Basically, the consequences vary for underage drinkers charged with DUI based on the level of BAC detected.
Forms of Drunk Driving
There are several terms you should know regarding New Jersey driving and drinking laws. This includes the following:
Every individual convicted of DUI should take part in alcohol and drug screening and even complete treatment through the IDRC in New Jersey.
2. Under the Influence
This category usually includes substances, apart from alcohol, which might still affect your ability to drive. For instance, habit-producing drugs, narcotics, and hallucinogens may lead to being under the influence.
3. Operating a Car
DUI depends on the intent to drive your car after taking alcohol. If you have physical control over your car and haven’t moved it even a bit, the law will still charge you.
What Usually Happens At the Scene?
A police officer can pull you over under suspicion of driving your car while drunk. In other situations, you will be requested to pull off at the DUI checkpoint.
No matter what aroused the suspicion of a police officer, you will be tested for possible intoxication. This might include a portable breath-testing device and physical sobriety tests. If you are deemed intoxicated, you will get arrested and brought to New Jersey’s police station.
In a Nutshell!
An accident caused by drunk driving is basically not regarded as an ordinary accident. Instead, it is considered a choice, which recklessly endangers the lives of everyone in New Jersey’s highways and roads.
Being charged with DUI can be a serious issue, and you shouldn’t take it lightly. If you get arrested for driving while drunk, you should get in touch with a professional attorney in New Jersey to help you throughout your case.
comments powered by Disqus